A Community of Trust

We Are Family

My high school class reunion was last weekend. I was on the fence about going since doing anything social on a Saturday night requires I be home in time for a decent night’s rest prior to market the following day. Throughout social media in the days leading up to the reunion fellow classmates started hash tagging their posts #wearefamily in anticipation (I’ll date myself, Sister Sledge was on the charts when I was a teen).

My decision was made – Central Farm Markets won because we are family.

There is an inherent vibe to a great farmers market that folds customers and vendors into a unique camaraderie cutting across social divides. I get to see my siblings once, maybe twice a year, but my fellow vendors and customers are there just about every week, some year-round. Creatures of habit, many customers frequent the market about the same time each week, developing their own relationships through chance meetings at their shared favorite vendor stands. Recipes are shared. Together we celebrate our milestones, like births and weddings. We mourn our losses.

We develop a trust with each other. Sometimes that trust pays off in ways far more valuable than what’s for sale.

The customer had a special order, her regular purchases and an add-on of something extra. The amount was much more than what she usually spent. Rooting around in her basket she panicked realizing she did not have her wallet. She apologized profusely then lamented she’ll have to wait until next week.

“Take it,” I said, “I know you’re good for it,” refusing to take back the products and writing down her total in my notebook. She’s been a regular for ten years. I wasn’t worried in the least about getting stiffed.

After she walked away, the next customer incredulously said to me, “I can’t believe you let that woman walk away without paying? Maybe I should forget my wallet, too.”

“Not on your life. I’ve never seen you before,” I responded and then went on to explain the benefits of regularly participating in a local food (or anything) economy where in addition to financial transactions, relationships are valued.

I get it. I’ve been there when I realized my wallet was sitting on my desk at home when I’m at the butcher shop, at the organic feed dealer, at the poultry farm where I pick up peeps for broilers – all in one day, all at a significant distance from the farm. Being there every week, every month, year after year has created an element of trust within our sphere.

…just like at market.

There are several ways Central Farm Markets fosters weekly community spaces – tables, chairs and shade for customers to congregate, to visit with each other and, listen to live music. There are activities for children and pets. There are cooking demos along with health education programs. Central Farm Markets works with community groups, such as Manna Food Center.

Family keeps in touch.

Did I miss catching up with my old classmates? Yes, but thanks to social media I’ve been able to keep in touch with many of them over the years. Which brings me to the Central Farm Markets family. There are many ways for everyone to stay in touch. #CentralFarmMarkets tracks across Facebook, Twitter and Instagram platforms. Even if you are not signed up for the weekly email newsletter, it’s cross-posted along with the line-up of vendors at each market that week. Show us what you’re buying, what you’re cooking, what you’re eating at the markets. In return, you can follow what your vendors and markets are up to and you just may get in on The Dirt before everyone else.

Post your comments